Sechelt Photo Province of BC
The District of Sechelt is a grouping of several communities along the lower Sunshine Coast. The name of the region is derived from the Sechelt language word, shishalh, that name of the First Nations people who initially settled the area thousands of years ago. The area is known for a wide variety of wildlife, and the Sechelt Marsh is a perfect example of this. The marsh is a sanctuary and breeding ground for waterfowl. The region has populations of buffleheads, red winged blackbirds and mallards.
Davis Bay and the Porpoise Bay Provincal Park are great locations for swimming, or relaxing on long sandy beaches. The area is also great for sailing, boating, or even kayaking, and canoeing. There are several guided tours of the area, that show all the natural beauty the region has to offer. The area is rich in the history of the Shishalh First Nations, and their totem pole art work can be seen on display in the area.
Sechelt is located 26 km (16 mi) north of Langdale ferry terminal on the Sunshine Coast. From Vancouver, take the Horseshoe Bay Ferry in West Vancouver to Langdale and drive Highway 101 to Sechelt.
The Shishalh tribe settled the Sechelt area thousands of years ago, taking advantage of its ideal location between Sechelt Inlet (providing access to Jervis Inlet) to the north, and the Strait of Georgia to the south. The first Europeans moved here in 1862 when Catholic priests arrived to set up a mission. By the 1880s, Sechelt had become an active centre for the logging and fishing industries, with the construction of sawmills and wharves.
The natural beauty of the Sunshine Coast however soon began to attract tourists, who arrived at the wharves at Trail Bay via steamship. The construction of the main Highway 101 in 1952, and the commencement of ferry service to both Horseshoe Bay near Vancouver to the south and Powell River to the north, accelerated tourism and residential growth, which continues today.
The original Village was incorporated on February 15, 1956. Sechelt later expanded its boundaries in 1986 with the inclusion of a number of adjacent unincorporated areas.